The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Skaar Son of Hulk #12 REVIEW

June 27th, 2009 3:10pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Skaar Son of Hulk #12

Skaar Son of Hulk #12
Marvel Comics
Pak, Lim, Buchemi & Adams

This issue pits green Hulk versus his son. Sure, you might expect the comic to be one big battle but you would be wrong. Instead what we have here is the merging, finally, of the various incarnations of the Hulk from the main Hulk series and the World War Hulk series. This comic actually makes huge strides in explaining a lot of the nagging Hulk questions for the last year and a half. The comic provides some small insight into Skaar as well, but this comic finally makes the Hulk an interesting character again. It’s been so long since I’ve read a coherent and relevant Hulk story I was thrown off my chair with this effort.

Continue reading...

Skaar #11 REVIEW

June 6th, 2009 2:42pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Skaar #11

Skaar #11
Marvel Comics
Pak, Lim & Panosian

As much as I liked the Prologue to Planet Skaar I knew I had to pick this issue up. Though I haven’t followed the Skaar title at all I felt this issue wasn’t going to leave confused. That was partially true. I enjoyed the comic but I did find it to be heavy on items that flew over my head. Whether or not it’s because I haven’t followed the title is anybody’s guess. I liked the issue but not nearly as much as the Prologue. I felt like the Prologue set all the pieces in place while this issue just decompressed Skaar’s steps to his father.

Continue reading...

Planet Skaar Prologue REVIEW

May 31st, 2009 1:19pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Planet Skaar Prologue One-shot

Planet Skaar Prologue #1
Marvel Comics
Pak & Panosian

Some time ago Greg Pak seemed to come out of nowhere with a storyline called ‘Planet Hulk’. It was an incredibly interesting story that spanned well over a year’s worth of stories. When the Hulk returned he was plunked down into the Marvel Event called World War Hulk and then from that fallout he was handed over to Jeph Loeb in a red Hulk storyline that is still going on. World War Hulk and red Hulk couldn’t possibly live up to the absurd hype, but Planet Hulk most likely exceeded even the most aggressive expectations as it served as the springboard into the events that followed. This story goes directly back to the roots that made Planet Hulk a smash hit. I urge anyone who liked that storyline to pick this issue up. Even if you hated World War Hulk or found red Hulk to be a red herring you need to find this comic.

Continue reading...

Variant Edition Tuesday 7/29/08

July 31st, 2008 5:57am by ComicList Email

THE VE GUYS SAY: We're a little late due to a technical mix up.

This week: It's the San Diego Comic Con news round-up.

Then it's the Rundown with the books you can expect to find in shops this week, and Mike and Luis take a look at Ultimate Spider-Man #124, Skaar Son of Hulk #2 and Thor #10.

Continue reading...

Variant Edition 76 Part 2

July 21st, 2008 5:48am by ComicList Email

THE VE GUYS SAY: We continue the episode so epic it had to be split into 2 episodes!
The oversized episode continues with reviews of: Anna Mercury #2, Captain America #38 &39, Wolverine #66, Fear Agent #21, The Goon #25, Skaar Son of Hulk #1, Monster Zoo Graphic Novel and Nick examines the Batman Black and White: Frank Miller statue.

Continue reading...

Skaar Son Of Hulk #1

June 18th, 2008 11:43am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Skaar Son Of Hulk #1
Marvel Comics
Pak, Garney & Mounts

You forgot Hulk had a son? Maybe that’s because he didn’t. His pregnant wife died sending Hulk back to Earth in a fit of rage. Well, it turns out his son survived the fire pits and explosions and emerged after his pops left his world. Skaar invites readers to munch on the Conan of Marvel super hero universe with this savage tale. If you like sword and sorcery wrapped into your Hulk titles then this issue is for you!

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Weekly Rankings For 06/11/08

June 12th, 2008 9:55pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Weekly Rankings For 06/11/08

Here are this week’s comics ranked prior to reading them, based upon past performance and advance information released on each issue:

6. Hulk Raging Thunder #1
5. Skaar Son of Hulk #1
4. Star Wars Rebellion #14
3. Green Arrow & Black Canary #9
2. Action Comics #866
1. Green Lantern Corps #25

Here are the rankings after the first read through with a mini-review:

Continue reading...

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais