The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Fantastic Reads 4 U: SQUADRON SUPREME #14

January 7th, 2017 5:44pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Squadron Supreme #14
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 12/21/2016

The Squadron Supreme was born out of the Secret Wars event. Getting to know a cast of characters from different universes who are thrust together to form a team on a world not their own took a little time, but after more than a year, Marvel has created a team of vigilantes whose intentions are essentially good, but their means are not necessarily justified. For me, the unpredictability of each character is what makes them interesting.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: DAREDEVIL #14

January 7th, 2017 1:26pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Daredevil #14
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 12/14/2016

I have been somewhat critical of writer Charles Soule's work so far on this current run of Daredevil. His work has been somewhat inconsistent and at times lacking soul – please pardon the pun. There have been issues that told decent stories, but most of them lacked the emotional hook that tends to keep readers wanting more. Soule's "Dark Art" story arc is so much better than all 9 issues before it. This is not the Daredevil I idolized while I was growing up in the 80's. It is so much Darker and deals with evil realities most of us would rather ignore than face head on. Ron Garney's rough-edged art fits the story perfectly, drawing us into a story that is both compelling and engaging.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: ALL-NEW X-MEN #15

December 3rd, 2016 5:07pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

All-New X-Men #15
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 11/09/2016

All-New X-Men is arguably the most frustrating comic book series I currently read. This book has a potentially fantastic cast of characters with so many possibilities in front of them, but absolutely none of this potential is being realized. None. The one thing this book does have is a solid art team – both artist and colorist. And All-New X-Men #15 is no exception, the art is eye-popping and the colors are vibrant to the point where I am wanting to take in the art longer than it takes me to read the story itself, which obviously suggests the art is more engaging than the story.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: MIGHTY THOR #12

November 11th, 2016 9:25am by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Mighty Thor #12
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 08/31/2016

Six issues ago, in Mighty Thor #'s 6 & 7, writer, Jason Aaron gave us a glimpse into Asgardian history with less than favorable results; albeit through the eyes of the god of lies, Loki. If you've read my review of Mighty Thor #7, you know how much I liked that foray into the past: it was one of the worst Thor stories I have ever read. Fortunately, this time around Aaron and company hit it out of the park. Mighty Thor #12 is absolutely fantastic! And guest artist Frazer Irving's work on the historical side of this issue is stunning – not as beautiful as Dauterman's art, but perfect for the story Aaron has forged. If a comic is going to barely feature the title character, this is the way to do it.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: UNCANNY AVENGERS #13

October 23rd, 2016 8:35am by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Uncanny Avengers #13
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 08/31/2016

Generally, I don't like event tie-ins, but Uncanny Avengers #13 is different. So many event tie-ins I've read in the past are just excuses to put major characters on the covers of books fans might not usually read and pass them off as must haves, or more relevant than they really are just to make more money. This one is different. This one is relevant. It's directly related to the events in Civil War II. And most importantly, it's a really good story with solid, dynamic art; plus, it sets the stage for what is soon to come in the Marvel Universe.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: CAPTAIN AMERICA SAM WILSON #13

October 22nd, 2016 10:44am by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Captain America: Sam Wilson #13
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 09/28/2016

Captain America: Sam Wilson #13 is a politically charged, action-packed comic that is not without its share of flaws, but is enjoyable nonetheless. Considering the current political climate and racial tensions prominent in mainstream media, it is no surprise writer, Nick Spencer has taken this book in the direction he has – especially considering his own political background. He is well suited to write this story. Artist Daniel Acuna's work stands on its own, it is somewhat unique and atypical of what is seen in many of today's current titles.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: DAREDEVIL #10

September 3rd, 2016 9:35pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Daredevil #10
Release Date: 08/10/2016

There is something missing in Charles Soule's Daredevil. I can't quite put my finger on it, but something isn't quite the way it should be. The stories have been decent, not fantastic, but not bad either, just lacking in some way. The art has been good, not suitable for all titles, but appropriate to this title. Garney's work has a sort of film noir look to it – rough, dark, gritty, and lacking in color. I think something the title lacks is a hook, we need something to grab ahold of us and make us want to know more. As readers we have to care what happens to the characters in the story. In order to care, we must identify with the people in the story in some way, which in turn allows us to feel as though we are a part of the story, and have a vested interest in the outcome of events the characters struggle through. For me, this is an area where Charles Soule fails as the writer of this title.

Continue reading...

The Comixalaxy Reviews: DAREDEVIL PUNISHER #4

August 27th, 2016 8:03pm by ComicList Email

Eric Bradach's The Comixalaxy

Daredevil/Punisher #4
Writer: Charles Soule
Artist: Szymon Kudranski
Colorist: Jim Charalampidid
Letterer: Clayton Cowles
Publisher: Marvel
Release Date: 08/17/2016

Writer Charles Soule's Daredevil and Punisher crossover Seventh Circle, comes to a conclusion with the fourth installment.

Continue reading...

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 79 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais