The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Tags: image comics

Geek Goggle Reviews: Walking Dead #84

May 3rd, 2011 5:36am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Walking Dead #84Walking Dead #84
Image Comics
Kirkman, Adlard & Rathburn

The conclusion of the "No Way Out" arc takes a bit of a different direction than what I had expected with this issue. The cliffhanger from last issue led me to believe this would be a more somber issue with a send-off to a long time character. Perhaps the issue would have some zombie fighting, especially when dealing with the pockets of survivors scattered around the neighborhood. Instead this issue completely goes in the opposite direction as it is almost entirely an action filled issue. It's a good read but I was left a little unsatisfied with the apparent lack of resolution with regard to the previous issue's cliffhanger. Consider this your spoiler warning. All you need to know is that it's a good book, as always, but it is not as great as the previous issue.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Super Dinosaur #1

April 23rd, 2011 11:49am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Super Dinosaur #1Super Dinosaur #1
Image Comics
Kirkman & Howard

Kirkman's launch of an all ages book featuring a kid and his intelligent dinosaur soldier hits this week with Kirkman's collaborator on Astonishing Wolfman, Jason Howard in the artist chair. The book is a fast paced book with a lot of action and good amount of science fiction. Kirkman tries to build out the universe while keeping the issue moving along and I think he does it well. The book is a loud and flashy looking book which certainly helps the story along. The pitfall is that the story may not be enough to hook readers in long term. Overall, it's a decent first step and it doesn't hurt that its twenty eight pages of story for $3.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Walking Dead Survivors' Guide #1

April 18th, 2011 5:44am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Walking Dead Survivors' Guide #1Walking Dead Survivors' Guide #1 of 4
Image Comics
Kirkman, Adlard, Rathburn, Grace & Daniel

I realize this isn't everyone's cup of tea. After all, most people that read comic books like their stories to be a) original and b) a story. This is arguably neither. However, I bought it and was impressed enough that I thought it would be something a lot of people would overlook but ultimately would enjoy the read if they purchased it.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Orc Stain #6

April 9th, 2011 3:25pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Orc Stain #6Orc Stain #6
Image Comics
Stokoe

If you are into "strange" and are looking for something different in your comic book then this is your jump on point to a series that fulfills those requirements. Orc Stain is simply unlike anything I have ever read before. James Stokoe does everything except make the paper for this book and it is clearly a labor of love. This particular issue contains thirty pages of some of the most flamboyant art I have ever seen set up with a story that is ridiculous almost to the level of absurd. While I am not sold on the story within this issue, the book and its concept are rock solid and bring the reader experience to a place that most books can just never go. How can you go wrong for three bucks?

Continue reading...

TFAW Reviews: Chew #18

April 8th, 2011 5:33am by ComicList Email

via The Blog From Another World

I'm always surprised at how John Layman and Rob Guillory can draw me in to each month's issue of Chew. They never seem to miss a beat. That's why these guys get my money every month.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Elephantmen Man And Elephantman #1

April 2nd, 2011 2:49pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Elephantmen: Man and Elephantman #1Elephantmen: Man and Elephantman #1
Image Comics
Starkings, Medellin, Roshell & Cook

The second issue of Elephantmen to ship during March is a one shot that promises to be a great jumping on point for new readers. Not only is there an extensive recap page to begin the book but the contents of the issue takes the reader on a bit of a history lesson of the Elephantmen in terms of where they've come from and where they are right now. It's a good issue that covers a lot of ground, but the teaser for the next issue titled, "Sea of Suffering" has me forgetting this one and clamoring for the next one. That's because this series always manages to leave me wanting more. Such is life I suppose.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Walking Dead #83

April 1st, 2011 5:57am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Walking Dead #83Walking Dead #83
Image Comics
Kirkman, Adlard & Rathburn

For as long as I can remember this series moves along with steady, terrific stories, issue after issue. Generally, there is a period of time where things seem to be going well for the cast, with some mild drama on the side. Then, when the characters (and the reader) seem the most comfortable, everything goes to Hell and characters - main characters die. This is one of those issues. Part Four of "No Way Out" starts out no different than a lot of issues, but escalates into chaos by the end and leaves the series changed forever. This issue validates sticking with this series through the more "normal" issues because when there is a payoff, like this issue, it's so much more worthwhile.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Elephantmen #30

March 13th, 2011 4:02pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Elephantmen #30Elephantmen #30
Image Comics
Starkings, Medellin & Bautista

The latest issue of Elephantmen brings one of the longer subplots to a steamy boil. While one of the more sinister ones pushes forward an agenda that probably most loyal readers saw coming. The issue is another example of how well crafted this series has been from the beginning. You would be hard pressed to find a comic book that has more compelling characters set in such a heavy science fiction setting. Did I mention this issue carries "For Mature Readers" tag? Yup, this is an issue you don't want to miss.

Continue reading...

Pages:<< 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 ... 37 >>