The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Tags: hulk

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulk #3

December 22nd, 2011 1:44pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulk #3Incredible Hulk #3
Marvel Comics
Aaron, Silvestri & Gho

Yikes, this relaunch is shaping to be a real misfire. The third issue continues to tell a very slow story but it adds a lot of fighting to make it appear like something is happening. This series is beginning to remind me a lot of Jeph Loeb's Hulk series except the Hulk is fighting monsters this time around instead of Marvel super-hero guest stars. I understand Aaron is trying to build up Hulk as his own entity (without Banner) and give him some purpose for getting involved with Banner again, but this story is just not dense enough. This is another disappointing issue.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulk #1

October 27th, 2011 5:50pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulk #1Incredible Hulk #1
Marvel Comics
Aaron, Silvestri & Gho

Marvel's big re-launch of the Incredible Hulk brings a high profile creative team and a new direction. All of which makes for good criteria for a re-launch. With DC Comics rebooting and launching their entire line in September I find myself comparing this number one with the likes of those number ones but that may not be totally applicable because the history of the character remains intact. In any case I found this issue to be lacking in many areas. Essentially this issue doesn't provide much story and I'm not sure the slow burn approach is the way to go with a high profile first issue as this one seems to do.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulk #635

September 2nd, 2011 6:47pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulk #635Incredible Hulk #635
Marvel Comics
Pak, Pelletier, Grummett, Miki, Hamscher, Hollowell & Aburtov

The five plus year run of Greg Pak on the Incredible Hulk wraps up with an issue that further explores what makes Banner and the Hulk tick. As you might guess, it wouldn't be a conclusion to any Hulk arc without a lot of fighting. Overall, this issue is a solid read containing a main story, an epilogue, afterword, interview and a cover gallery of the seventy or so issues that Pak was written. The conclusion to the arc, though, I found to be only so-so. Either way, if you are fan of Pak's take on the Hulk then this is a definite to pick-up.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulks #634

August 12th, 2011 7:45pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulks #634Incredible Hulks #634
Marvel Comics
Pak, Pelletier, Miki, Hollowell & Aburtov

The penultimate chapter in the Greg Pak, Incredible Hulk saga hits with issue 634. The issue has a tremendous amount of action and it brings about some of the most bizarre plot twists I think this arc could have conjured up. Overall, the issue's focus is on giving away some of the "wishes" that have driven the plot to this point and the fighting is a companion to those wishes. This is a fun issue that leaves for an ending that could go in so many directions. I enjoyed this issue and found it to be cover to cover fun.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulks #620

January 14th, 2011 9:37pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulks #620Incredible Hulks #620
Marvel Comics
Pak, Pelletier, Miki & Mounts

The Chaos War wraps up its tie-in to the Hulk(s) with this issue as the Hulk battles the undead, monstered-up, incarnation of his father. As you might guess the issue is heavy on the action and displays it with some amazing artwork. The issue has some interesting character work and gives a good window into the overall point of the Chaos War mini event. It's a fun issue all around.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulks #618

December 12th, 2010 8:20pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulks #618Incredible Hulks #618
Marvel Comics
Pak, Pelletier, Miki & Mounts

This issue of the Incredible Hulks is a Chaos War tie-in which provides a good test for this reader as I haven't read one single issue of the Chaos War event….assuming it is an event. I found the issue to blend in perfectly with the larger scheme of the Hulk universe while also informing the reader of what exactly the Chaos War is. I liked the issue and I even thought the backup was good too. All around, this was a good comic book.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulks #614

October 14th, 2010 6:55pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulks #614Incredible Hulks #614
Marvel Comics
Pak, Kitson & Hanna

As Earth, as a whole, becomes aware of the sudden appearance of a planet in our solar system a couple of different factions begin to mobilize and plan for a defensive. Hulk's newly discovered son, Hiro-Kala, is riding in a fleet of ships towing a planet towards Earth to destroy it. It's not entirely clear how everyone on Earth understands this is an attack, but the gravitational pull resulting from the new planet is creating some weather issues. Banner knows better as one of his other kids, Skaar, lets him know that there is this other son out there and he is presumably out to kill him, if not everyone. This issue significantly picks the story up and the action. This was a solid read.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Hulk #25

September 24th, 2010 10:18pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Hulk #25Hulk #25
Marvel Comics
Parker & Hardman

Red Hulk (I guess we can just call him "Hulk" now but it still doesn't feel right) has a new driver at the helm starting in this issue as Jeff Parker takes over. As you might expect this is a jump on point for new readers as much of the issue is the set up for the new status quo for the Hulk. It's a good issue and does a lot of explaining for the newer reader as opposed to being action heavy as it was in previous issues. It's definitely a different comic book now with a new creative team.

Continue reading...

Pages:<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais