The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Geek Goggle Reviews: THE TOTALLY AWESOME HULK #1

December 5th, 2015 2:07pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

The Totally Awesome Hulk #1The Totally Awesome Hulk #1
Marvel Comics
Pak, Cho & Oback

Amadeus Cho takes his turn as the Hulk in this first issue by the character's co-creator, Greg Pak. The comic clocks in at a five-dollar cover price for thirty pages of story. The comic is mostly action centric, but there is some character development here and there. This is a very average read for your money. If you are fan of Amadeus Cho then you might be in for a jolt in terms of his depiction.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Hulk #1

August 29th, 2015 6:22pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Hulk #1Hulk #1-16 (2014)
Marvel Comics
Waid, Duggan, Bagley, Hennessy & Keith

Between April of 2014 and May of 2015 Marvel published a comic simply entitled "Hulk" that ran for sixteen issues plus an annual. While this is isn't the first comic to carry this title and this volume comes on the heels of the 'Indestructible Hulk' by the same writer, Mark Waid, this volume takes on a direction that is unique from all the other recent Hulk incarnations. Marvel has had a pattern of launching books when different creative teams take the reins for a comic, so when Mark Waid was pulled from this book for other projects after only four issues Marvel oddly decided not to relaunch the book. Instead they let the comic turn in a completely different direction. It is entirely possible that new writer, Gerry Duggan, had more freedom with the book with the Secret Wars event coming along and canceling all the titles and effectively ending the universe. However, the devil is in the details and Duggan made the most of his twelve issues and helped make this title one of Marvel's best over the past year. This is a highly recommended read.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Hulk #16

May 9th, 2015 3:39pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Hulk #16Hulk #16
Marvel Comics
Duggan, Bagley, Hennessy & Keith

The final issue of this incarnation of the Hulk series ends with a very touching and telling story. For the most part, there aren't any battles (the cover is a future vision), not really any revelations, no real twists. Instead the comic is a deep look at the relationship between She-Hulk and Hulk and a smaller look at Banner and Hulk and a tiny look at Banner and Betty Ross. The comic book probably caters to real hardcore fans of the character and the casual reader might dislike the lack of action. However, despite the five-dollar cover charge, the book is a very entertaining and complete read. I recommend giving this a shot.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Hulk #1

April 19th, 2014 3:32pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Hulk #1Hulk #1
Marvel Comics
Waid, Bagley, Hennessy & Keith

The re-launch of the Hulk is a comic book that boasts the tagline, "Who Shot Bruce Banner?" which implies a mystery of sorts. However, the opening issue feels like a recap and a very limited introduction to a plot. This issue simply doesn't have enough to pull in this reader for another twice a month, four dollar book. It's entertaining enough, but there isn't much in here that promises a consistently good or fun read for that kind of cash output. If you are curious I'd check it out but I'm not sure you are going to be adding it to your pull list immediately.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Indestructible Hulk #1

November 23rd, 2012 1:28pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Indestructible Hulk #1Indestructible Hulk #1
Marvel Comics
Waid & Yu

Hulk is one of those characters that a creator can throw into a lot of different situations and make it work. Gladiator, Vegas bouncer, mindless monster, villain, misunderstood hero and on and on. Waid puts him in the unique situation of working as a good guy, in broad daylight as Hulk signs up with SHIELD in this issue. The book largely sets up the plot but doesn't do a lot of character building around the big guy, but it does give reader a glimpse into the persona of Banner as seen through the eyes of the new creative team. The book is an okay start but there isn't anything in here that particularly grabbed me.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Hulk #52

May 26th, 2012 2:58pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Hulk #52Hulk #52
Marvel Comics
Parker, Pagulayan, Vlasco, Paz & Staples

The final issue of the Haunter Hulk arc goes out with a very loud bang. This issue is the perfect example of what I expect from a Hulk story (no matter who is writing it) and what I demand from almost every comic book. This is a case where the cover most certainly matches up with the contents. This is just a flat out fun comic book to read.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Hulk #50

April 7th, 2012 4:06pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Hulk #50Hulk #50
Marvel Comics
Parker, Pagulayan, Paz, Staples & Brereton

The anniversary issue. Always hit or miss. This one comes in with a standard length story, a ten page backup, a villain gallery, an interview with Parker and a brief history of Thunderbolt Ross, all for four bucks. Before I even read a page of the story I knew I had value for my money. I'm pleased to say that this book is a good read and provides readers with enough mystery and intrigue to come back for more. Overall, I would call this anniversary issue a success on multiple fronts.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Incredible Hulk #6

March 16th, 2012 6:12am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Incredible Hulk #6Incredible Hulk #6
Marvel Comics
Aaron, Portacio, Martinez & Prianto

Banner and the green Hulk square off on the crazy, creature, Island, filled with Hulk-ed out creatures in the latest issue of the Incredible Hulk. The one line sentence summary makes the book sound interesting and exciting. However, the comic book is a complete mess. I never like to trample on creator's work because I understand that this is a complete team effort from writer all the way down to the printer. That said, this is not only an awful book to look at, but it is also the worst Jason Aaron comic book I have ever read. I don't believe I have ever recommending avoiding a Jason Aaron comic, but this is the one.

Continue reading...

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais