The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Tags: green lantern

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #15

December 21st, 2012 1:16pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #15Green Lantern #15
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke, Alamy, Irwin & Champagne

Green Lantern breaks out of its slow building story about the new Green Lantern as this comic book advances that plot forward in a big way. The comic book continues to churn the whole Third Army subplot but it is very slow going. The book gives a token nod towards the Hal and Sinestro subplot, which is almost puzzling because it literally provides no new information. Overall, the book is a mixture of good character work, unexplored subplots and main plot advancements. It's a decent read but nothing great.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #0

September 7th, 2012 2:07pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #0Green Lantern #0
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke, Alamy, Irwin & Champagne

Green Lantern issue zero is definitely a jumping on point because this comic book introduces a brand new lead character. Simon Baz is slightly different than the other Green Lanterns because he's basically a criminal, but there is a past that is teased in this book that seems to open up a lot of possibilities. This is a good book because Johns puts on a great introduction to a character that could have some potential down the road.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern Annual #1

August 31st, 2012 2:49pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern Annual #1Green Lantern Annual #1
DC Comics
Johns, Van Sciver, Woods & Smith

This forty page Green Lantern Annual serves as the prologue to the big crossover, "Rise of the Third Army." Though priced at $5 I believe this issue to be worth the price and definitely liked what I saw between the covers. Does this mean the crossover will be a good one? It's tough to say, but I definitely say my faith in Johns' ability to tell a good story was renewed with this comic. This isn't on the level of the Sinestro Corps War Special, which was that crossover's prologue, but it is fairly close. I would check this out if you have any interest at all in the characters or the coming crossover.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #12

August 18th, 2012 12:35pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #12Green Lantern #12
DC Comics
Johns, Guedes & Calafiore

Green Lantern is a comic book that rarely allows a newer reader to get in on a random issue. For the most part, Johns connects issue to issue and without any sort of recap box you typically have to wait several pages before you even get introduced by name to the characters on the panel. This issue is actually different. This is a fairly self-contained story, despite being part two of an arc and the comic actually provides an entertaining and satisfactory read in of itself. The art is the only component that drags the comic book down a notch.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #8

April 14th, 2012 12:15pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #8Green Lantern #8
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke, Alamy, Champagne & Irwin

Green Lantern continues to labor through stories with very lackluster issues that probably wouldn't make a lick of sense to any reader that hasn't read this entire run (or with Wikipedia handy). This issue marks the second chapter of "The Secret of the Indigo Tribe" and for the life of me I can't figure out what the goal of the tribe is. Add in that the issue has some very sloppy art in parts and I found myself disappointed with the comic book. I expect so much more from Johns.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #7

March 16th, 2012 1:49pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #7Green Lantern #7
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke, Alamy & Champagne

There is a fine line between telling an entertaining and fun, decompressed story and putting forth an effort that seems to go nowhere while being mindless. To be blunt, I found this comic book to be boring and too familiar. Yes, Johns writes the characters well and Mahnke delivers some stunning visuals but that's just not enough. The seventh issue feels like we are watching scenes we witnessed in the second or third issue with dialogue cut directly from those issues. I can't just chalk it up to stretching things out. This issue is just not that good effort as a single issue.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #3

November 11th, 2011 4:44pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #3Green Lantern #3
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke, Alamy & Champagne

Despite the cover artwork, the third issue of Green Lantern contains very little fighting in it. The bulk of the issue has Sinestro and Hal Jordan bantering back and forth. The dialogue is very good and makes the issue move quickly but the issue is basically sixteen pages where nothing happens before containing some fighting, which makes for a dull book generally. Johns has a tendency to draw stories out, which I can't stand, but this one at least has some witty dialogue to keep it interesting. Overall, this issue is a fine read.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #2

October 14th, 2011 6:22pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #2Green Lantern #2
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke, Alamy & Champagne

The second issue of the re-launched Green Lantern is kind of a slow issue. While the issues provides some good moments between Hal Jordan and Sinestro it opens up to some questions that I'm not sure are going to have clear answers. Overall, the highlight of the book is the artwork but story-wise there just isn't much here. It feels like a stall issue, which isn't a good sign.

Continue reading...

Pages:<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais