The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Tags: dc comics

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern Corps #56

January 22nd, 2011 9:52am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern Corps #56Green Lantern Corps #56
DC Comics
Bedard, Kirkham, Batt, Hunter, Ruffino & Wands

The battle with The Weaponer continues in this issue as a whole new cast of characters join in the fray. The issue contains a lot of fighting and a lot of excellent visuals to support the battle but the issue is very light on character definition, with one big exception: Sinestro. Sinestro is in some very capable hands with Bedard in this issue as he steals the show. I can't say I'm totally on board with some of Sinestro's actions, but the character does have a history of being a little crazy. Overall this is a fun, but forgettable issue.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Unwritten #21

January 14th, 2011 8:17pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Unwritten #21Unwritten #21
Vertigo Comics (DC Comics)
Carey, Gross & Locke

Tom Taylor finds himself in the story of Moby Dick where his own Dad is the captain of the ship. This issue, perhaps more than any other, places the characters squarely, almost faithfully, into an existing literary work. The result is a fabulously written issue that really drives towards the heart of what the overall themes of the series has been touching on since the beginning. The subplot with Lizzie and Richie, though interesting, seemed to leave too much of a gap between them and the whereabouts of Tom. Overall, this was another great issue.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: American Vampire #10

December 24th, 2010 3:46pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

American Vampire #10American Vampire #10
Vertigo Comics (DC Comics)
Snyder & Santolouco

The new arc, "The Way Out", kicks off with a complex and entertaining read as Snyder revisits two of his original characters. The issue tells split tales of the two former roommates Hattie and Pearl. Perhaps you remember the pair from the first arc when Hattie was eventually left for dead by Pearl. Well she is back in a shocking reintroduction to the overall story. This issue has Mateus Santoluco taking over on art but the book manages to keep the same overall feel as it had under Rafael Albuquerque. This is quickly becoming one of my favorite titles month to month.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: DMZ #60

December 18th, 2010 7:07pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

DMZ #60DMZ #60
Vertigo Comics (DC Comics)
Wood & Martinbrough

The formation of the Free States of America begins in this flashback issue. For as long as I have been reading this series I have wondered about a number of aspects of the war and this is one of them. I can't say this issue answered all of my questions and, in some ways, now that the mystery has been unveiled I think I preferred my own imagination to have run wild about the origin of the war rather than have it explained for me. At least on this small of scale. It's a good issue but it isn't the epic beginning story I had hoped for. Perhaps Part Two of the arc will bring it all together.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #60

December 18th, 2010 2:11pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #60Green Lantern #60
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke & Champagne

Green Lantern fights the Flash in this issue. Well, to be precise, Green Lantern battles Parallax, which is using The Flash's body. This issue is heavy on the action and juggles a ton of characters as a new villain is revealed as the one chasing down the various colored entities. The comic book jams in a lot of information, as if it were trying to do a lot of recapping, which is nice as opposed to just straight up fighting. Overall, the comic is good but there are some things holding it back from being great.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: American Vampire #9

December 4th, 2010 3:56pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

American Vampire #9American Vampire #9
Vertigo (DC Comics)
Snyder & Albuquerque

The Las Vegas arc, Devil In the Sand, wraps up with a nice, bloody confrontation and ends with a terrific twist. This arc broadens the cast for this series nicely and adds a dimension of evil to Skinner that makes him a very difficult character to embrace, even as the likeable bad boy. There's a split among the art duties in a noticeable way but it doesn't take anything away from the issue. Overall, this is an excellent issue in an excellent series. This is definitely worth your time whether you like vampires or not.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: DMZ #59

November 27th, 2010 1:18pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

DMZ #59DMZ #59
Vertigo (DC Comics)
Wood & Lapham

The conclusion of the series of one shots called Collective Punishment focuses on the main character throughout this series: Matty. This issue puts the reader, through Matty, right in the heart of the bombing of the city. I found the issue to visually stunning and a very interesting character study. What Wood has done is taken his hero of the story, Matty, and turned him into something unlikable. As this issue unfolded I found myself hoping he would get bombed. However, Wood drags the reader back over to Matty's side, almost against their will. This was a very good issue taking on the almost impossible task of making me care about the fate of Matty.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern Corps #54

November 20th, 2010 4:25pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern Corps #54Green Lantern Corps #54
DC Comics
Bedard, Kirkham & Batt

Green Lantern Corps continues to be an entertaining but frustrating read. On the one hand, the epic feel to the book has continued during the in between event stories. On the other hand, the book feels disconnected from the rich history of the Corps and even the current incarnation of the title. The story wasn't the only oddity here as the artwork (and its cover credits) seem to drift from very good to careless. This is a mixed bag of an issue to be sure.

Continue reading...

Pages:<< 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 ... 62 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais