The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Tags: dc comics

Geek Goggle Reviews: Frankenstein Agent Of S.H.A.D.E #1

September 16th, 2011 2:35pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Frankenstein Agent Of S.H.A.D.E #1Frankenstein Agent Of S.H.A.D.E #1
DC Comics
Lemire & Ponticelli

Frankenstein is one of DC's new books that literally is something completely different. It doesn't seem to have any connections to the normal DCU (beyond a reference to "supermen" and "batmen" and the inclusion of Ray Palmer) and it seems to have relatively little history or continuity. Lemire takes advantage of this in a big way by putting together a team of monsters while creating an interesting problem to solve in the first arc. As an individual issue the story is a fun one with some mild gore and some very interesting characters. Overall, this was a good start to this series.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Green Lantern #1

September 15th, 2011 6:52pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Green Lantern #1Green Lanterns #1
DC Comics
Johns, Mahnke & Alamy

Green Lantern is not part of the reboot but rather just a re-launch – one that Marvel does with regularity. However, this book doesn't change creative teams, but it changes leads in the seat of the book. This book has Sinestro wearing the Green Lantern ring rather than Hal Jordan, but Hal's in the book almost as much as Sinestro. Overall, this re-launch breathes some new life into the title that had become slow and boring over the last year. This was a good start to an interesting direction for Hal and Sinestro. I definitely recommend picking this one up.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Red Lanterns #1

September 15th, 2011 6:50pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Red Lanterns #1Red Lanterns #1
DC Comics
Milligan, Benes & Hunter

The first issue of Red Lanterns is not a reboot nor a re-launch but a straight-up launch. However, since it falls under the umbrella of the "new 52" it needs to be graded as the others are graded. It needs to be accessible as well as entertaining and this book manages to do those things but it misses something important in the end: a reason to come back for more. This issue is a good read but Milligan doesn't establish what this title is going to be about long term. A good but not great issue by any means.

Continue reading...

TFAW New 52 Reviews: Green Lantern, Batwoman, Superboy and More

September 14th, 2011 9:29pm by ComicList Email

via The Blog From Another World

DC's The New 52 #1 IssuesWe Review Every #1 Issue of The New 52!

It's time once again for our comics reviews of The New 52, DC Comics' ambitious re-imagining of its entire superhero universe. This week, we review all 13 of the September 14 titles, including Green Lantern #1, Batwoman #1, Batman & Robin #1, Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E., Mister Terrific, and much more!

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Animal Man #1

September 9th, 2011 7:11pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Animal Man #1Animal Man #1
DC Comics
Lemire, Foreman & Green

The first issue of Animal Man I found to be clearly divided into two parts. The first part, I found to be rather dull and almost entirely uninteresting as it goes over the state of Animal Man now. However, the second part of the book dives into the horror end of the pool and does so with such force that I found the ending to actually be shocking and slightly grotesque (in a good way). Overall I thought the issue was good but didn't quite elevate to the level above "being a solid read".

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Batgirl #1

September 9th, 2011 1:11pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Batgirl #1Batgirl #1
DC Comics
Simone, Syaf & Cifuentes

The first issue of Batgirl delivers an accessible, engaging and entertaining comic book that fulfills much of what DC hopes to do with their reboot, particularly with a character that has been drastically altered. I found the comic to bring the Barbara Gordon character to a stage where she is smart, but inexperienced while maintaining the same deep-thought character will recall from her Oracle days but all the while injecting a layer of fun that Oracle rarely provided. Overall, this is the kind of comic book that DC needs to keep creating and churning out in order to make this reboot a success with old and new fans alike.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Action Comics #1

September 9th, 2011 5:55am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Action Comics #1Action Comics #1
DC Comics
Morrison, Morales & Bryant

The big fish of all the DC reboots is that of Superman, specifically Action Comics. Of the heavy hitters in the DCU he seems to have the most that's changing, so in some ways the success of the DCU reboot is tied to this book and Superman proper. The first issue brings in most of the key players from the Superman mythos as Morrison crafts a good story for the first issue while laying out the groundwork for the long-term arc and the longer-term themes of the series. In the end, though, I just didn't find all that much to get me hooked into this series. It's a serviceable introduction issue for the reboot but it just isn't enough to keep this once long-time fan of the character coming back for more.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Swamp Thing #1

September 9th, 2011 5:53am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Swamp Thing #1Swamp Thing #1
DC Comics
Snyder & Paquette

For me, the most anticipated launch of the whole DCU reboot/relaunch is that of Swamp Thing. Putting Scott Snyder at the helm made the book that much more appealing to me. With the character's long history of amazing creators, it seems this book had a lot to live up to even if it wasn't tied to the massive relaunch. Overall, the book was okay. It wasn't great but it also wasn't slow enough that I plan to immediately drop it. I'm not sure casual fans of the character are going to want to stick around, but I do think the hardcore Snyder fans or fans of the character are willing to see where all of this is heading. I am in the latter's camp.

Continue reading...

Pages:<< 1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 ... 62 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais