The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Black Jack Volume One

July 26th, 2008 2:57pm by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

Black Jack Volume One
Vertical
Osamu Tezuka

I know very little about manga, except for the review copies that have been sent to me. Having said that, after reading a preview of Black Jack Volume One, I highly recommend it to novices such as myself. Will it appeal to those already versed in the ways of manga? I absolutely believe so!

Continue reading...

New Avengers #43

July 26th, 2008 2:43pm by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

New Avengers #43
Marvel Comics
Bendis, Tan, Miki

Here we learn a great deal about Captain America we saw arrive on Earth with the rest of the 1970's-80's style heroes in the Skrull ship that crash landed in the Savage Land. If you've been reading SECRET INVASION, you will not want to miss this comic. If not, you should read it to find out why SI is welcoming good reviews and sales.

Continue reading...

Milt Caniff's Steve Canyon 1947

July 26th, 2008 1:02pm by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

Milt Caniff's Steve Canyon 1947
Checker Book Publishing Group
Milt Caniff

You will find no finer piece of literature in the world of comic strips or comic books than STEVE CANYON. Sadly, I started reading this strip in its waning years, as the Vietnam war was ending, and newspapers and readers starting turning away from what was a patriotic and military oriented story. However, we can recapture the magic of the strip's early years in this fine trade paperback series by Checker BPG.

Continue reading...

Contract #1 and #2

July 19th, 2008 5:34pm by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

Contract #1 and #2
A First Salvo
Madeiros,Shell, and a variety of artists

Despite what the cover of Contract #1 might lead you to believe, this is not a series about a well endowed woman who wears tight t shirts. It's actually a well written and drawn comic, probably closer to a good Image comic book than anything else I can think of.

Continue reading...

Caffeine Dreams #3

July 19th, 2008 12:53am by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

Caffeine Dreams #3
DWAP Productions

Any anthology featuring three different stories by three different teams of creators is going to be hit and miss, and this is no exception. Of the three stories, only one features artwork that rises above the quality of someone's sketchbook, and the best writing isn't coupled with said artwork.

Continue reading...

Final Crisis #2

July 1st, 2008 1:00am by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

Final Crisis #2
DC Comics
Morrison/Jones

FINAL CRISIS #2 more than makes up for its predecessor. It's clear to me now #1 wasn't put together as a single issue that could be enjoyed and appreciated on its own, but instead was designed as the first chapter of a trade paperback. #2 is the next chapter, but it works fine as an individual comic book.

Continue reading...

Secret Invasion #3

June 4th, 2008 11:20pm by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

Secret Invasion #3
Marvel Comics
Bendis/Yu

I'm no Marvel Zombie. I hold no allegiance or preference for any particular brand or company when it comes to comic books. Marvel by no means has been hitting home runs with me every time lately, One More/Brand New Day being the best example. But Secret Invasion is pushing all the right buttons for me, and issue #3 was a double or triple, far outreaching the bunt that Final Crisis #1 was.

Continue reading...

Final Crisis #1

May 30th, 2008 12:33am by ComicList Email

ComicList Critiques by Charles LePage

Final Crisis #1
DC Comics
Morrison/Jones

A first issue of a comic books series serves one overall purpose: to explain why you should continue purchasing and reading the series. Final Crisis #1 certainly opens a lot of doors to future developments, but it remains to be seen if, when finished, this is a story that will be understood on its own without depending on knowledge of other DC titles that many readers might not have.

Continue reading...

Pages: 1 2 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais