The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Minutemen #6

January 25th, 2013 6:13pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Minutemen #6Before Watchmen: Minutemen #6 of 6
DC Comics
Cooke

The Darwyn Cooke written and illustrated Before Watchmen mini-series wraps up with an unimaginative and lackluster effort. While fans of Cooke's art will find a lot to like in this issue, fans of Watchmen and general high quality storytelling will find this issue to be unsatisfactory conclusion to a very poor mini-series. Sadly, this one was one of the better Before Watchmen series thus far.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Comedian #3

September 14th, 2012 4:26pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Comedian #3Before Watchmen Comedian #3 of 6
DC Comics
Azzarello & Jones

Comedian's series rolls on with another unfocused and garbled mess of a story, editorially, with Before Watchmen: Comedian issue number three. I'm not sure how this character portrayal fits in with the other Before Watchmen books or the original Watchmen work. I simply can't believe this is going to drag on for another three issues as this doesn't seem to be a story in as much as it's a collection or snippets of the Comedian doing things that don't really fit together in this series, let alone in the larger mosaic of the character's appearances.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Silk Spectre #3

September 7th, 2012 2:06pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Silk Spectre #3Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #3 of 4
DC Comics
Cooke & Conner

Silk Spectre issue three is the turning point for Laurie. She has her coming of age in this issue and it's a fantastic read. Visually we watch the progression of her feelings and her body language, while the story gives a natural next step to her life. The comic is not perfect, but it is a very good read.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Doctor Manhattan #1

August 25th, 2012 10:31am by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Doctor Manhattan #1Before Watchmen: Doctor Manhattan #1 of 4
DC Comics
Straczynski & Hughes

Doctor Manhattan is the final first issue of the Before Watchmen event and it offers a beautifully drawn, eloquently written recap of what came in Watchmen #4 some twenty-six years ago. The comic book spends almost all of its space recapping (with updated art and monologue) a story that was already told. It does this to set up the cliffhanger at the end. It's an entertaining read to be sure. Straczynski does an amazing job of capturing Alan Moore's style from the original Watchmen. Hughes does a great job on art. However, the book isn't original, even a little bit, until the very end. Unfortunately, the ending just isn't enough to get me to buy into three more issues of this type of story.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Rorschach #1

August 18th, 2012 12:36pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Rorschach #1Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1 of 4
DC Comics
Azzarello & Bermejo

When Before Watchmen's list of titles was announced I had very high hopes for this title in particular. Of all the characters in the original work I felt Rorschach was the one that was the least defined of the bunch. I also felt his story had the most legs and seemed like could be something different if fleshed out. This comic book delivers a great visual story about a character that looks like Rorschach, but doesn't have the same magic in terms of characterization as the original work. Make no mistake, the comic book would be a success if Azzarello brings something interesting to the character, even without a compelling story. This is a good start, but the parts feel too generic at this point for me to get jazzed up the remaining issues.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Comedian #2

July 28th, 2012 4:42pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Comedian #2Before Watchmen: Comedian #2 of 6
DC Comics
Azzarello & Jones

The second issue of the Comedian follows a similar path as the first issue only with less celebrity appearances. Unfortunately, the book drags the character into situations that make little sense and at the same time, bends the characterization of him in ways that are too divergent from the original work. The book surrounds the Comedian with no-name, generic characters that make the book uninteresting from a plot perspective. I appreciate that Azzarello is trying to distance himself from the original work as much as possible, but this mini-series is shaping up to be simply forgettable.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Silk Spectre #2

July 21st, 2012 3:46pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Silk Spectre #1Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #2 of 4
DC Comics
Cooke & Conner

The second issue of the Silk Spectre mini-series puts together a good little story. Granted, the book stayed anchored with the broader Watchmen universe, but it actually didn't need to. This story could have stood on its own the way the issue played out without trying to include too many other Watchmen references. Laurie finds that her new life still has a lot of lowlifes and her training as a superhero begins to bleed through her peace and love front. This issue presents a problem for the main character and puts her in a very sticky situation by the book's end. I liked this issue and I can't wait to see where it ends up when it is all said and done.

Continue reading...

Geek Goggle Reviews: Before Watchmen Ozymandias #1

July 7th, 2012 2:31pm by ComicList Email

Brandon Borzelli's Geek Goggle Reviews

Before Watchmen Ozymandias #1Before Watchmen: Ozymandias #1 of 6
DC Comics
Wein & Lee

Ozymandias has the luxury of being the character that I was the least interested in when I first read Watchmen. I couldn't reconcile why he had super powers or if he was just really strong and fast or how he turned bad or if he was always that way then how did he dupe everyone. In essence, I wanted to know more about the character and this prequel could perhaps fill in some of those blanks. I found this opening issue to be as straight-forward an origin story as you could possibly get. If you remove the fact that it is tied to a classic story then the issue is extremely average and is something you probably feel like you have read a thousand times before. If this comic book is to appeal to anyone that hasn't read Watchmen I would think this issue needed to give more of a story rather than an information dump.

Continue reading...

Pages: 1 2 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais