The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Suspended Animation

Para REVIEW

April 25th, 2009 10:28am by ComicList Email

ParaSuspended Animation Review

Para, published by Penny Farthing Press, 178 pages, $19.95.

Having reviewed for the Suspended Animation column for about 9 years, there have been a few books which, for one reason or another, have been placed on the back burner and seen to later than they deserved. One or two have simply become misplaced for a time in my disorganized glut. That was the unfortunate case with Para, from Penny Farthing Press.

Continue reading...

Marvel The Lost Generation REVIEW

April 18th, 2009 10:24am by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

Marvel: The Lost GenerationMarvel: The Lost Generation, #’s 1-12, published by Marvel Comics, 32 pages, $2.99.

Nearly ten years ago, Marvel Comics marketed a 12-issue comic book series entitled Marvel: The Lost Generation. I passed it by.

A week ago, I netted all 12 issues on Ebay for a song...., and found out they were worth the original cover price.

Set in the Marvel Universe’s past, before the origin of the Fantastic Four took place, the story is the brainchild of long-time comics pro John Byrne, who wrote and drew the series. TLG takes several characters previously seen in Marvel stories, throws them in with quite a few dreamt up by Byrne, and gives readers a tale chock-full of well-done characterization and slam-bang superhero action.

Continue reading...

Anne Steelyard The Garden of Emptiness REVIEW

April 11th, 2009 9:43am by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

Anne Steelyard The Garden of Emptiness GNAnne Steelyard: The Garden of Emptiness, Act One: An Honorary Man, published by Penny Farthing Press, 96 pages, $14.95.

Most comics fans have somewhere within them that insecure enthusiast who desperately desires to prove the merit of comics as an art form. I manage to keep mine under control for the most part. I hope you do, as well. For those occasions when you are unable, however, I would like to suggest a very impressive work to utilize in proving your point.

Anne Steelyard: The Garden of Emptiness is a graphic novel written by Barbara Hambly. In it, she treats readers to a sweeping epic, the quality of which hardly ever makes it to the big screen, much less your local comics shop.

Continue reading...

Profanity in Comics, or "Ah, Grow Up, Will Ya?"

April 4th, 2009 1:57am by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

Allow me pose a pointed question: Have you ever refused to buy a comic book because it lacked the proper amount of profanity? I didn’t think so. I’ve never heard that complaint, in over 30 years of reading comics, and 16 years patronizing the same comics shop in Tulsa.

You’ve probably guessed already that I’m one of those "comics purists," as I call us. We are those ridiculously puerile fans who simply refuse to "grow up" and realize that using profanity is simply the way of the world, nowadays. "Just shut the *&%! up and accept it" some may say. Well, I can’t. There are too many examples of well-done, best-selling comics stories out there that don’t employ such language.

Continue reading...

Robert E. Howard's Myth Maker REVIEW

March 28th, 2009 10:09am by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

Robert E. Howard’s Myth Maker, published in 1999 by Cross Plains Comics, 64 pages, $6.95.

If the comics medium is an art form, (and I believe it is) then one has to assume the existence of some “masterpieces” of sequential entertainment. Understand, I don’t throw that term around willy-nilly, if I ever have at all. I’m about to, however.

Continue reading...

X-Men Vs Hulk and Hulk Vs Fin Fang Foom REVIEW

March 22nd, 2009 2:26pm by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

X-Men Vs. Hulk and Hulk Vs. Fin Fang Foom - Both published by Marvel Publishing, 48 pages and $3.99.

Even during these difficult economic times, I still make the occasional impulse purchase. I did so twice recently while visiting various comics shops in Tulsa.

Continue reading...

Comics Legend Bob Layton SUSPENDED ANIMATION SPOTLIGHT

March 14th, 2009 12:02pm by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

Comics Legend Bob Layton

When discussing legendary comic book creators, no roll call is complete without the inclusion of Bob Layton.

A former apprentice of Wally Wood and protégé of Dick Giordano (two more comics legends), Layton is part of that “plucky” group of comics professionals who got their start producing fanzines. Most notable in that field was his co-founding of CPL/Gang Publications (CPL being short for the fanzine Contemporary Pictorial Literature) and his work on The Charlton Bullseye for Charlton Comics.


Iron Man HC - Demon In A Bottle


Iron Man TPB - The Many Armors Of Iron Man

Continue reading...

The Mighty #1 And #2 REVIEW

March 7th, 2009 7:40am by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

The Mighty, #’s 1 and 2, published by DC Comics, 32 pages, $2.99 each.

What if Superman, besides being a well-known superhero, was also a merchandising institution? (In his world, not ours.) And, what if, from toy lines, comic books, clothing lines, video games, etc., he funded his own national law-enforcement agency? Well, wonder no more, because that’s the premise in DC Comics’ The Mighty.

Continue reading...

Pages:<< 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 29 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais