The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

Fantastic Reads 4 U: GREEN ARROW #20

April 21st, 2017 1:07pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Green Arrow #20
DC Comics
Release Date: 04/05/2017

Green Arrow #20 brings us to the conclusion of the three-part Return of Roy Harper story arc. The story is fast-paced and action-packed, but as it has been throughout this title, the art leaves a little to be desired. Writer, Ben Percy has a good sense of his characters and the direction of this book, but DC's pace of production is not always conducive to quality art and storytelling; which is detrimental to some titles and not so much to others.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: TEEN TITANS #5

April 21st, 2017 12:16pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Teen Titans #5
DC Comics
Release Date: 02/22/2017

Teen Titans is one of DC's titles that gets better with each successive issue. Writer, Ben Percy has done a great job with this title's opening 5-part story arc. Khoi Pham's art is fun, if occasionally cartoony, but somehow appropriate for the youth of the characters. Though the opening installments of this title (including the Rebirth issue) were both predictable and somewhat hard to buy into, Percy has found depth in several characters, and that is compelling enough to draw me back for more.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: AQUAMAN #15

February 11th, 2017 1:09pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

I have not been able to read all 15 issues of this title, but the issues I have managed to read so far have been spectacular. Aquaman #15 is no exception: it is action-packed, artistically dynamic, and so engaging that as I finished reading the final page, I realized there was a world around me outside of the panels of DC's water-breathing monarch; a world that had faded out while I was completely immersed in the story.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: SQUADRON SUPREME #14

January 7th, 2017 5:44pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Squadron Supreme #14
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 12/21/2016

The Squadron Supreme was born out of the Secret Wars event. Getting to know a cast of characters from different universes who are thrust together to form a team on a world not their own took a little time, but after more than a year, Marvel has created a team of vigilantes whose intentions are essentially good, but their means are not necessarily justified. For me, the unpredictability of each character is what makes them interesting.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: DAREDEVIL #14

January 7th, 2017 1:26pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Daredevil #14
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 12/14/2016

I have been somewhat critical of writer Charles Soule's work so far on this current run of Daredevil. His work has been somewhat inconsistent and at times lacking soul – please pardon the pun. There have been issues that told decent stories, but most of them lacked the emotional hook that tends to keep readers wanting more. Soule's "Dark Art" story arc is so much better than all 9 issues before it. This is not the Daredevil I idolized while I was growing up in the 80's. It is so much Darker and deals with evil realities most of us would rather ignore than face head on. Ron Garney's rough-edged art fits the story perfectly, drawing us into a story that is both compelling and engaging.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: ALL-NEW X-MEN #15

December 3rd, 2016 5:07pm by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

All-New X-Men #15
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 11/09/2016

All-New X-Men is arguably the most frustrating comic book series I currently read. This book has a potentially fantastic cast of characters with so many possibilities in front of them, but absolutely none of this potential is being realized. None. The one thing this book does have is a solid art team – both artist and colorist. And All-New X-Men #15 is no exception, the art is eye-popping and the colors are vibrant to the point where I am wanting to take in the art longer than it takes me to read the story itself, which obviously suggests the art is more engaging than the story.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: MIGHTY THOR #12

November 11th, 2016 9:25am by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Mighty Thor #12
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 08/31/2016

Six issues ago, in Mighty Thor #'s 6 & 7, writer, Jason Aaron gave us a glimpse into Asgardian history with less than favorable results; albeit through the eyes of the god of lies, Loki. If you've read my review of Mighty Thor #7, you know how much I liked that foray into the past: it was one of the worst Thor stories I have ever read. Fortunately, this time around Aaron and company hit it out of the park. Mighty Thor #12 is absolutely fantastic! And guest artist Frazer Irving's work on the historical side of this issue is stunning – not as beautiful as Dauterman's art, but perfect for the story Aaron has forged. If a comic is going to barely feature the title character, this is the way to do it.

Continue reading...

Fantastic Reads 4 U: UNCANNY AVENGERS #13

October 23rd, 2016 8:35am by ComicList Email

Richard Gratton's Fantastic Reads 4 U

Uncanny Avengers #13
Marvel Comics
Release Date: 08/31/2016

Generally, I don't like event tie-ins, but Uncanny Avengers #13 is different. So many event tie-ins I've read in the past are just excuses to put major characters on the covers of books fans might not usually read and pass them off as must haves, or more relevant than they really are just to make more money. This one is different. This one is relevant. It's directly related to the events in Civil War II. And most importantly, it's a really good story with solid, dynamic art; plus, it sets the stage for what is soon to come in the Marvel Universe.

Continue reading...

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 311 >>

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais