The World's Greatest Comic Book Shipping Information Website!

REVIEWS: On The Shelves 08/16/06

August 16th, 2006 10:03am by ComicList Email

On The Shelves: 08/16/06, by Guy LeCharles Gonzalez

Reprinted courtesy of Comic Book Commentary.

Reading is fundamental. Reading comics is supposed to be FUN, so don't waste your time reading bad ones!

Tomorrow is my 37th birthday and I'm particularly feeling it in my knees as the softball season is starting to take its toll! Plus, I'm definitely going to have to get my shoulder checked during the off-season as I'm pretty sure I tore something. Nevertheless, my mutant power has always been denial, so I'll push through it.

One thing I can't deny is that my passion for comics has been dialed down several notches recently as I again skipped my weekly visit to Midtown Comics and will be doubling up this week, if and when I make the time to get to the store. With that in mind, here's my weekly look at select comic books being released Wednesday, 8/16/06. The full shipping is list available at ComicList.

[NOTE: Not all of these titles will actually arrive in all stores. If your LCBS offers a pre-ordering service, be sure to take advantage of it. If not, find another one; or try Khepri.com or MidtownComics.com]

PICK OF THE WEEK



Savage Brothers #1

Continue reading...

REVIEW: Pogo Revisited

August 11th, 2006 2:55pm by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

Choosing a book from one's own library is like selecting a bottle of wine from your own stock, with one exception.

No one can drain a book.

Pogo

Pogo Revisited (1970s) reprints three earlier collections, Instant Pogo, The Jack Acid Society Book and The Pogo Poop Book. They feature Walt Kelly's Pogo comic strips from the '50s and –60s, and original material created for these editions.

This original work includes stories with the pacing of comic books, Kelly's nonsense verse and "TV jinkles" (advertising jingles), illustrated prose stories, essays, and Kelly's brilliant understanding of human nature -- if talking possum, turtles, owls, alligators, pigs and dogs are "human beans" in your book.

This collection is Walt Kelly at the long-sustained height of his creative genius as an artist and writer.

As an artist, his style is similar to that of another comics genius, Will Eisner. Both were flawless visual storytellers. Both had mastered beautiful, smooth line-work, and had perfect control over the technical aspects of cartooning.

As a writer, Kelly loved to play with words (you nump-skull!) and body language. Pogo and pals seem to dance verbally and visually across the page even as they pun and mangle the English language.

Oog! Nothing is better than vintage Kelly, and this and any Pogo collection receives the highest recommendation.

Walt Kelly's Pogo Revisited original cover price--$3.95, 320 pgs. from Fireside Books/available at used on-line or storefront book stores, some comics shops, some libraries, and at estate sales, on-line auctions, and maybe even at a garage sale. You get the idea. MV

MINIVIEW: The Sandman Papers [Fantagraphics Books] If you analyze a joke, you destroy it. The same is true for a renowned comic book series. This collection of essays dissecting DC Comics' The Sandman is tedious and recommended for only the most diehard Sandman fan. MV

Order Vance's history of the American Comics Group in Alter Ego #61 at
www.twomorrows.com.

Interested in the exciting Oklahoma Cartoonists Collection and Toy and Action Figure Museum? Go to fourcolorcommentary.blogspot.com/

REVIEWS: On The Shelves 08/09/06

August 9th, 2006 1:32pm by ComicList Email

On The Shelves: 08/09/06, by Guy LeCharles Gonzalez

Reprinted courtesy of Comic Book Commentary.

Read GOOD Comics, not just the ones you're used to! Try something new EVERY month.

Before I take my first look at this week's list and write a single comment, I should point out the extreme level of disinterest I'm feeling towards comics these days. Like the cynical old man on the porch who hasn't heard a good song in decades, here's my weekly look at select comic books being released Wednesday, 8/9/06. The full shipping is list available at ComicList.

[NOTE: Not all of these titles will actually arrive in all stores. If your LCBS offers a pre-ordering service, be sure to take advantage of it. If not, find another one; or try Khepri.com or MidtownComics.com]

PICK OF THE WEEK



Incredible Hulk #97

Continue reading...

REVIEW: Hero Gets 'Girl

August 4th, 2006 8:36pm by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

There were only a precious handful, and artist Kurt Schaffenberger (1920-2002) was among the best.

The handful mentioned is artists and writers who worked in both the Golden and Silver Age of comics, and a trade paperback, Hero Gets Girl, is Schaffenberger's story.

His career began at the Binder "Shop", an assembly line of writers and artists who created comic books for several early publishers. It continued through his employment at Fawcett (Captain Marvel), the American Comics Group (MagicMan) and National/DC (Superboy), where Kurt produced a huge volume of work.


From 1941 to 1991, Kurt handily drew the adventures of everyone from Captain Marvel, Jr. to Nemesis, from Superman to Lois Lane. He won a huge following of loyal fans who loved his distinct, clean line-work.

Clean best defined Kurt's style that he defined as 'idealized reality', and his life as well. Both reflected an optimism and work-ethic alien to many today. And Schaffenberger's art needs no signature to be identified as his work.

In addition to Kurt's life story, Hero Gets Girl also features a great number of his covers, pages and sketches, photographs, an extensive index of his published work, and homages from friends and professionals that span his entire career.

Those homages also reveal fascinating tidbits about the lives of famous cartoonists including Ken Bald, Will Eisner, Carmine Infantino, Julius Schwarts and many others.

My favorite section publishes Christmas cards that Kurt created for his friends, family, and associates.

Hero Meets Girl was written with the open, conversational enthusiasm and admiration of fan and friend, Mark Voger. His biography is highly re-commended for anyone interested in the history of comics.

Schaffenberger is an Associate of the Oklahoma Cartoonists Collection.

Hero Gets 'Girl: The Life and Art of Kurt Schaffenberger/126 pgs. and $14.95 from TwoMorrows Pub./ available at comics shops and www.twomorrows.com. MV

Order Vance's history of the American Comics Group in Alter Ego #61 at www.twomorrows.com.

Interested in the exciting Oklahoma Cartoonists Collection and Toy and Action Figure
Museum? Go to fourcolorcommentary.blogspot.com/

REVIEWS: On The Shelves 08/02/06

August 1st, 2006 7:43pm by ComicList Email

On The Shelves: 08/02/06, by Guy LeCharles Gonzalez

Reprinted courtesy of Comic Book Commentary.

Read GOOD Comics, not just the ones you're used to! Try something new EVERY month.

For the first time in nearly three years, I didn't make my weekly pilgrimage to Midtown Comics and...life went on! Who knew? As a result, though, I've had to avoid most of the comics internerd to avoid spoiling any of the stories that await me when I finally catch up on Thursday. (Hopefully.) Coincidentally, perhaps, I feel like my snark-o-meter is revving pretty low today.

Nevertheless, here's my weekly look at select comic books being released Wednesday, 8/2/06. The full shipping is list available at ComicList.

[NOTE: Not all of these titles will actually arrive in all stores. If your LCBS offers a pre-ordering service, be sure to take advantage of it. If not, find another one; or try Khepri.com or MidtownComics.com]

PICK OF THE WEEK



Artesia: Beseiged #2

Continue reading...

REVIEW: Runaways

July 28th, 2006 3:34pm by ComicList Email

Suspended Animation Review

Runaways, published by Marvel Comics, 144 pages, $7.99.

It's great to see Marvel Comics finding success in a series of digest comics, and wonder of wonders, in retail outlets other than comics shops! I'm speaking of the series entitled Runaways, (of which five volumes have been published at the time of this review) the continuing story of a Group of teenagers who are trying to learn about their super powers and cope with their often-clashing personalities, both while on the run from good guys and bad. The worst part? The bad guys are their own parents. I won't reveal anything else story-wise, but will instead let you discover for yourself the wonderful sequential entertainment that is Runaways.




Written by Brian K. Vaughan, this is a work in which superheroics is secondary; the icing on the cake for superhero fans or an endurable aside for those who carry a torch for spandex-free tales. What takes front and center stage is characterization. Vaughan has captured the average American teenager in an impressive manner. Whether reflected in anger, bliss, resentment, joy or what have you, the characters are believable in both action and dialogue.

The art work is provided primarily by Adrian Alphona, with some by Takeshi Miyazawa. I have to admit to being partial to Alphona's work, as I believe it more detailed and a tad more realistic. Not to mention that, as the original artist for the first several issues of the series, she gave the characters their life, their "zing." Miyazawa's work has a much heavier Manga influence, and is less my "cup of tea." But, Manga fans be advised. If I had a suggestion, it would be that Marvel keep it's mainstream characters out of this series, that it might maintain it's own unique "flavor." The "no tights in sight" rule, if you will.

Runaways is recommended for all but the youngest readers (12 and up, according to Marvel's rating system). Find it at comics shops, bookstores and online retailers and auctions.

Mark Allen

For information on the exciting Oklahoma Cartoonists Collection and Toy and Action Figure Museum go to fourcolorcommentary.blogspot.com/

REVIEWS: On The Shelves 07/26/06

July 27th, 2006 6:03am by ComicList Email

On The Shelves: 07/26/06, by Guy LeCharles Gonzalez

Reprinted courtesy of Comic Book Commentary.

Read GOOD Comics, not just the ones you're used to! Try something new EVERY month.

My weekly look at select comic books being released Wednesday, 7/26/06. The full shipping is list available at ComicList.

[NOTE: Not all of these titles will actually arrive in all stores. If your LCBS offers a pre-ordering service, be sure to take advantage of it. If not, find another one; or try Khepri.com or MidtownComics.com]

PICK OF THE WEEK



Bumperboy and the Loud, Loud Mountain

Continue reading...

PREVIEWS: Marvel for October 2006

July 22nd, 2006 4:58pm by ComicList Email

Previews of Marvel Comics that will be published in October 2006, by Ralf Haring.

Continue reading...

The Acronyms List

AR -
Ask retailer for price
BD -
Blu-ray Disc
CCG -
Collectible card game
CD -
Compact disc
DVD -
Digital versatile disc
FCBD -
Free Comic Book Day
GN -
Graphic novel
HC -
Hardcover
HD -
High definition
LCG -
Living Card Game
MMPB -
Mass market paperback
PVC -
Polyvinyl chloride
RPG -
Role playing game
SC -
Softcover
TBD -
To be determined
TCG -
Trading card game
TP -
Trade paperback
UDA -
Upper Deck Authenticated
WDCC -
Walt Disney Classics Collection
WS -
Widescreen

show more

About ComicList

ComicList was founded Jan. 12, 1995 with the mission of empowering comic book consumers by providing accurate and timely information. By delivering the weekly list of new releases, along with news concerning current and future products available in local and online comic book shops, we enable consumers to meet their goals more effectively.

The new releases list, which details the comic books, graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and other products you will find in your local and online comic book shops, is posted weekly every Monday night. Our site also offers the latest news, previews, and reviews, updated every day.

Receive ComicList updates via email or RSS feeds, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook. You can also find us as Agent ComicList in Avengers Alliance and Squire Valiant Snail in Super Hero Squad Online.

Editor In Chief: Charles LePage

Reviewer In Chief: Brandon Borzelli

Web Designer: John Chanthana

Graphics Designer: Emilio Amaral Marques de Morais