Umbral #7Media Release -- Bestselling writer Antony Johnston (THE FUSE, Wasteland) and artist Christopher Mitten cast their spell once more as they return with the eagerly anticipated new story arc of UMBRAL in Book Two: "The Dark Path," which begins with issue #7.

Umbral #7 begins a new story arc that takes the tale's unlikely heroes through the 'Bulaswode': a strange, misty forest full of dangers and weird creatures, including the deadly Silvali riders, called Wodelings. Rascal will have to face her past and battle against hopelessness. Dalone's own past will return to literally haunt his nightmares. As for Shayim and Munty... well, they've got their own secrets to worry about. By the end of it, none of them—especially Rascal—will ever be the same again.

"By now, most books would have settled down into a cosy status quo, with good and bad guys clearly marked," said Johnston. "But in Umbral, there is no status quo. Just a quick-witted, potty-mouthed thief on the run from nightmare shadow creatures, wizards, assassins... and magic itself. We recommend Umbral for discerning fans of high adventure and low morals."

UMBRAL #7 arrives in stores this 7/16 and will be available for $3.50. It can be pre-ordered using Diamond Code MAY140740. The final order cutoff deadline for retailers is 6/23.

Fans of The Spiderwick Chronicles and Dark Crystal will love this new story arc
"A must-read for fans of magic, thieves and all things scary." —CBR

"If magic and toothy things that go 'boo' in the night trip your trigger, you shan't go wrong with Umbral." —Crave Online

"The novel has nice pacing. It is fast and it needs to be as there is a great deal of action in it right from the start… Antony Johnston's writing skills and Christopher Mitten's pencilling talent have made this idea become an epic story of good versus evil."
—SF Site